What I’m loving Right Now…and a recipe

I hadn’t expected to post today, I was thinking perhaps a little later in the week but the opportunity has presented itself so here we are. I had a couple of different things in mind but I decided to go with a “What I’m loving Right Now” post and as bonus throw in this super simple spring soup which incidentally is also something I am totally loving right now.

Here we go…

So with all that is going on with my Mom, I’ve been reflecting a lot about life and whether or not I’m really living it on my own terms and I stumbled across these three (1, 2, 3) articles on the web. The messages in the pieces speak to me so clearly and loudly that I have no choice but to take more time this summer for me and my family, it’s time for my husband and I to pull ourselves out of “hustle” mode just a bit and really appreciate what we have. It’s also time for me to invest more in myself and my own career. I enjoy the work that I do for others and will continue to do so, but I have to make the conscious decision to not put myself in situations that do not always serve me well. It’s not being selfish it’s about creating the life that I want for myself and my family and being open to receive all of the blessings that God has in store for me.

I am always striving to improve my yoga practice and this upcoming retreat in Morocco would be such a dream.

I’m currently reading Molly Wizenburg’s latest on the kindle and have fallen in love with her writing all over again.

I finally broke down and bought myself a pair of these…a total indulgence, it took me a whole year to make the decision to buy them. I experienced the same kind of apprehension when I got my first pair of Dansko clogs which are now the only things I’ll wear in the kitchen when I’m teaching a class or doing a catering job (at home I’m mostly barefoot).

It appears I was ahead of the game when I posted that last Rhubarb recipe, this week there has been an explosion of Rhubarb recipes on the web. But this round-up done by Naturally Ella, a favorite blogger of mine sums it up nicely.

I’m counting down the days until the release of this cookbook and this one, I’m positive they are going to change my seasonal cooking game for the better.

I have a  birthday coming up in June, for Mother’s Day I gave the three most important women (Mom, Grandmother, Aunt) in my life bracelets from this line but  now it’s my turn.

In preparation for summer I’ve been happily adding to my collection of Sundresses lately which are so easy and effortless during the warmer months and also forgiving for those of us whose weight fluctuates a bit from time to time. This one would truly made my collection complete.

Now about that soup recipe…

pea shooter

Spring Pea Soup

Pea soup is a pretty basic recipe but one that is completely underrated in my book. Like apple pie there are many different versions but at the core they are all similar and hopefully deliver the same desired effect, highlighting the sweet and comforting flavor of the all too familiar fruit. I “developed” this recipe for two fitness trainers that I work with from time to time. They like to give their clients meal plans to follow when there are in heavy training mode. This recipe showcases the humble pea at it’s best, even my picky five-year old will agree.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter or olive oil
  • 2 cups chopped leeks, white and light green parts
  • 4 cups vegetable stock
  • 4 cups freshly shelled peas or 1 16-ounce package of frozen peas
  • 2 teaspoons fine seas salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

Instructions:

Heat butter or oil in a large saucepan over medium heat, add leeks and cook for about 5 minutes until the leeks begin to soften.

Add the stock and the peas, increase the heat to high and bring to a boil. Cook for 5 minutes or until peas are cooked through but not mushy. We still want to maintain some of that bright green color.

Remove the peas from the heat, using a food processor or blender puree the peas in batches. When finished add the pureed peas back to the saucepan over a low heat.

Whisk in the yogurt and add salt and pepper, adjust seasoning as needed. Serve warm or at room temperature.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I’m loving Right Now…and a recipe

  1. Hi Heather,

    I’m so excited to see all that you have accomplished over the years. All I can do is smile. May God continue to bless and keep you under His wings.

    Olivia

Leave a comment