Its Not Easy Being Green…

I hope you enjoyed todays musical interlude. I just love Kermit The Frog…but seriously though life can be freaking harder than a mutha sometimes and then I step into the kitchen, take a moment to remind myself how blessed I am and all is right with the world.

You may be gearing up for Halloween, fighting for the Cure, or thinking about Dia de Muertos (Day of the Dead) but I’m trying to figure out what to do with all of the green tomatoes I was recently gifted by my grandmother. Yes, while many of you are waxing poetic about Delicata squash (we’ll get to that next week), I’m still stuck on tomatoes. We’ve had some pretty cold nights here in my neck of the woods lately but her tomato plants refused to die that was until she relieved them of the last of their fruit and ripped them up from the ground. If you are as fortunate as I to still be stuck on tomatoes too then below are a few of my favorite links/recipes from the web and of course I’m sharing one of my own recipes as well.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Green Tomato Crostata/Galette

Serves 4 to 6

I always struggle with what to call these free form tart/pie things. The French call them Galettes, the Italians Crostatas, I don’t really want to call it a tart because I’m not using a tart pan. Whatever the correct terminology, and being that I’m a culinary professional I should probably figure it out, I love making them. They are super easy to prepare and are a great way to showcase practically any type of seasonal fruit or veg. Ideal for weeknight meals and gatherings alike.

Ingredients:

  • 1 store bought 9 inch pie crust
  • olive oil
  • 1 pound green tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 small onion, sliced
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (I used gouda, but any cheese will do)
  • salt and pepper

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Unroll pie crust onto a baking sheet, brush the inside lightly with olive oil
  3. Place tomato slices onto the pie crust working from the middle towards the edges, leave about one inch of space around the perimeter of the pie crust.
  4. Sprinkle tomatoes with a healthy pinch of salt and pepper.
  5. Top with sliced onions and the shredded cheese.
  6. Fold the edges of the pie crust towards the center, brush the folded edges with a little olive oil and place the crostata into the oven. Bake for 15-20 minutes until the crust in light brown in color and the cheese is melted completely.
  7. When done baking, allow to cool for just a few minutes and using a pizza cutter or sharp pairing knife cut into small wedges and serve.

 

 

Leave a Reply

