Inside the Recipe Testers Kitchen: Buckwheat Waffles

It’s Friiiday! Let’s cue the Cure shall we.

I know I’m dating myself with the musical selection for today…lol youngsters take note.  I’ve decided to add a little something new to the mix around here. As you know I’m a culinary professional and over the years I’ve been fortunate enough to have tested and helped develop recipes for a pretty impressive list of cookbook authors and fellow chefs. Out of all of the various job assignments that I’ve had over the years (teaching, catering, etc.) recipe testing is by far my favorite. For me there is nothing better than walking into a kitchen with a counter full of fresh ingredients, a stack of recipes and some killer tunes blaring from the iPhone.  I’m always in the process of tweaking or developing something new in the kitchen and I decided it might be fun to share some of those projects. So periodically I’ll give you a sneak peek on a recipe that I’ve been working on, sometime it may be from a client (with their permission of course) other times it might be for my own personal files because after all one day there will be some food related tome out there with my name on the cover. Today I bring you “Buttermilk-Buckwheat waffles with Ricotta cheese and sautéed Peaches”.

Buckwheat Waffles

 

The one meal that is most synonymous with Sunday other than Sunday dinner is brunch. For me I normally do a Saturday brunch, since Sunday’s are a pretty busy day in my various family households and Sunday dinner is always the most anticipated meal for that day. As part of my commitment to living more of the “Sunday” lifestyle I will indulge in a leisurely breakfast at least one other day during the week outside of Saturday. Regardless which day of the week you choose to indulge in a brunch type meal, this buckwheat waffle will fit right in. I bought some buckwheat flour a while back to make buckwheat crepes and there was a recipe in a recently acquired cookbook that called for it. The crepes never got made, same with the cookbook selection and I found myself home last Saturday morning alone with my daughters trying to figure out what to make. Waffles are a favorite of mine, but how could I kick them up a notch? Buckwheat flour was the answer.

Buttermilk-Buckwheat Waffles

Makes 6-8 square waffles depending on the size of your waffle iron

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt (I use Redmond’s real salt)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted and cooled (for a healthier version you could swap the butter out for 4 tablespoons of coconut oil)

Instructions:

In a large mixing bowl combine all of the ingredients, stirring well until you have a thick batter. Set the batter aside and let it rest for about 15 minutes.

While the batter is resting you can make the peach topping by combining 4 small peaches diced and chopped, a pinch of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, 3 tablespoons of honey, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 2 tablespoons of water into a small saucepan. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 5 minutes until peaches have cooked down a bit and adsorbed all of the flavors. Remove the peaches from the heat and let sit until you are ready to serve your waffles.

After the batter has sat for 15 minutes, prep your waffle iron and go to town.  Depending on the type of waffle iron you have it will take roughly 5-6 minutes for each waffle to cook, maybe less.  Remove waffle from iron, put a dollop (1 tablespoon) of fresh ricotta cheese on the top and then garnish with the sautéed peaches.

The waffles on their own have faint sweetness to them and slight tang from the buttermilk, they are a little on the heavy side therefore very filling. I could have eaten just one, although I happily ate two.  You can substitute the peaches for whatever fruit is in season, apples, pears, cherries, strawberries, blueberries.  To be fair, peaches are far from being in season around here but I scored a few California peaches from my co-op market and they were just soooo good, I had to make something with them before I just sat and ate them all in one sitting.

*If you happen to give this recipe a test run over the weekend or any other day this upcoming be sure to tell me what you think. As a recipe tester I’ll run through this recipe about two more times before I declare it golden, but it’s pretty close as is.  Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

