What I’m Loving Right Now…

Autumn_in_Dresden

Last week came and went in a blur, I managed to squeak out one small blog post and it looks like this week might be more of the same.  Not to worry nothing catastrophic happened just a few extra work things (non-culinary work) that threw me and my normal schedule out of whack. There is also a possibility I may be returning back to the land of 9 to 5 (40 hour work week kind of thing). I’m not going to get into the many reasons why but just remember being self-employed or even partially self-employed is not for the faint of heart and every now and then you have to shift gears and find what works best for you at that given time. Nothing should change around here, oftentimes I find when I have more on my plate I’m actually surprisingly more organized. I managed to juggle many freelance projects in the past while raising a family and having a full-time office job and I don’t see any reason why I can’t do it again if need be.

But enough about that mildly depressing stuff and on to today’s post. I haven’t done a “What I’m Loving Now” in a while. For those new subscribers and thank you by the way for tuning  in, “What I’m loving Now” is an assortments of links to various people, places, and things that have really resonated with me over the past week or so. Enjoy and if you’ve stumbled across anything cool out there on the web that you think I should know about send me the link.

  • If you are the parent of small children or even not so small children, you are sure to relate to these 17 Mom Confessions in some way. I found myself hysterically laughing out loud at many of the scenarios.
  • I am always striving to keep my life simple and drama free which means starting each day with my best foot forward, this short article from Apartment Therapy on 10 Things To Do the First 10 Minutes of your day has some good rules to follow, only thing missing from their list is prayer/meditation just saying…
  • The FYI Network has a fun digital series called “Inspired” which features short videos about taste makers in the world of food, fashion, style and travel. My favorites so far are Outstanding in the Field, Not Without Salt and Dinner a Love Story (I was fortunate enough to test recipes on both of her best-selling cookbooks).
  • Ok here’s another one for all of you parents out there, a piece in the Washington Post on Parenting as a Gen Xer (that would be me). This was kind of news to me but Gen Xer’s are the first generation of parents to raise kids in a super-duper high-tech world. My kids know nothing of life before the age of the cellphone, computer or x-box.
  • The October 12th issue of the New York Times Magazine focused on food and the family table, most of the articles were well thought out and informative so I thought but there was a bit of internet backlash and hoopla surrounding the piece on parents who hate making dinner. Thoughts?
  • I do consider myself to be a wellness enthusiast even if this blog doesn’t appear to express those sensibilities at all times and I love discovering other sites that spread the word about taking care of oneself body, mind and soul. Check out the Chalkboard Mag by the folks of Pressed Juicery.
  • Y’all know I’m a spirits kind of girl and this homemade Spiced Pear Liqueur recipe is looking mighty fine. A little of this at your next dinner party is sure to please.
  • Here’s something you guys may not know, I’m a real Jazz head. John Coltrane, Duke Ellington, Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday and many others all hold a very special place in my heart. During this time of year when the weather cools down and the fireplace is going Jazz music is in heavy rotation at my house. I had planned on putting together a personalized playlist for you guys over at Spotify but they beat me to it with their Jazz for Autumn playlist.
  • I love listening to WNYC and the Leonard Lopate show, it makes me feel like I’m still truly connected to my adopted hometown and this latest broadcast about writers who love New York made me pretty nostalgic for the Big Apple more than usual.
  • I remember discovering Agatha Christie when I was in the 7th grade and I read every single book that was available in my middle school library, thinking about revisiting some of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

