Trying to Cure what Ails me

Towards the end of last week I felt myself feeling a little under the weather. The cause could have been any number of reasons, a run of the mill cold, allergies, drastic change in weather patterns or even emotional stress. You guys have heard the expression that “stress kills” and there have been more than enough studies to show what stress can do to an otherwise healthy individual over time.  Honestly I’m inclined to think it was emotional stress, I don’t want to be a “Wendy Whiner” but I have been through a lot these past several months. Don’t get me wrong, there is plenty to keep me smiling on a day-to-day basis but there is also still much to wrap my head around, lots of hard-hitting real life stuff that one can only hide behind a smile but for so long. I wear my birth order as the oldest child and astrological profile as the nurturing cancer very well and I always tend to put others needs and feelings above my own often to my own detriment. I lost my mother 4 months ago and my dear precious husband lost his mother just last month, my two young daughters have lost both their grandmothers in an unusually close span of time. I’m still grieving my mother and I suspect I will continue to for many months and years to come. And now I must hold my husband up and be strong for him as he joins me in grieving the loss of his mother. There has been family drama like I’ve never seen, levels of selfishness that I wouldn’t expect and a lack of respect shown towards me during this difficult time that has been utterly unimaginable. Add into that emotional turmoil the fact that I’m an emotional eater whose metabolism is practically non-existent without a certain amount of exercise. Needless to say what I began to feel on Friday was a long time coming. One thing was for certain I knew I needed to dig deep spiritually, I needed to pray, cry, mediate, spend time in the holy word and nourish my physical body with the right things.

There is something incredibly healing in the art of making and consuming a pot of soup. This recipe is nothing special, a few items from my fridge and pantry but it was just what I needed to help reset the emotional clock, to begin the process of healing my body from the inside out. Although this isn’t necessarily a soup I’d serve while entertaining guests I would certainly make it for a friend or family member who finds themselves a bit under the weather physically or emotionally.

Kale soup

Stress Busting Soup

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups low sodium veggie broth (homemade is best)
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced
  • 1 1/2 cups kale, large stems removed and torn into bite sized pieces
  • 1/2 medium onion, thinly sliced
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric*
  • dash of ground fenugreek*

Instructions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat.
  2. Add in onions and cook stirring occasionally for about 5 minutes until onions begin to soften.
  3. Pour in the veggie broth and sweet potato and bring to a boil, reduce the heat back down to a simmer and add in the kale. Continue cooking for about 15-20 minutes or until the sweet potato is cooked through.
  4. During the last few minutes of cooking stir in the turmeric and fenugreek.

*Turmeric the spice known for giving curry its signature yellow-orange color has an active ingredient called curcumin which is thought to help in cancer prevention, diabetes, allergies and inflammation of all kinds. The list of health benefits for fenugreek is just as expansive as turmeric but it is most notably used for digestive problems such as upset stomach and gastritis.  

 

3 thoughts on “Trying to Cure what Ails me

Leave a Reply

