Blogging for Books: “A Beautiful Mess Happy Handmade Home”

Yup we’re back on books again but I couldn’t resist sharing such a fun new resource.  If you are a blogger who like me enjoys trying out new products and services from time to time and better yet, loves books and would like to find a way to incorporate some into your blog. Then you gotta check out Blogging for Books. I found out about this site from a favorite food blog of mine, Naturally Ella and immediately signed up to see if I could participate because I felt like the concept would be a great fit for what it is that we do here.

The first book that I’ll be featuring as a newish member of the Blogging for Books family is “A Beautiful Mess Happy Handmade Home: Painting, Crafting, and Decorating a Cheerful, More Inspiring Space”  This book is written by sisters Elsie Larson and Emma Chapman of the DIY lifestyle site “A Beautiful Mess” one of my absolute favorite websites of all time. I’m proud to say that I was DIY before DIY was cool but these girls have got me beat by a long shot and I get positively giddy with excitement every time I visit the site and see what they’ve come up with. I love their style, sense of design and the fact that they are sisters who are in business together. They totally remind me of me and my fabulous sister.

A-Beautiful-Mess-Happy-Handmade-Home

Being that I’m about to embark on a few new DIY projects myself it seems only fitting that I should give this particular book a read. There are so many easy, useful and fun projects that I didn’t know where to begin. Each idea is better than the last and has me itching for a shopping spree at the Home Depot and my local craft store. But I finally settled on one that I think will make an awesome addition to my home decor.

photo-2

One of the things that I haven’t ever felt comfortable doing is picking out wall art. I have a handful of family photos that grace my walls and a living room clock but I could never really commit to any artwork. I couldn’t seem to figure out what type of medium would look best. A simple painting or perhaps something more three-dimensional like mosaic art and then of course there’s the cost involved.  This quotable wall art project appeals to my rustic side, I love the idea of simple stained wood and capturing a favorite word or phrase just gives it a fun and modern appeal.  Not to mention it won’t cost you an arm and a leg to pull this off so at the end of the day if it doesn’t work you won’t feel too bad. I’ll post a photo once I’ve finished my own piece. Another great pick that I’m considering from this book is the colorful side table made from a wooden sawhorse! But you’ll have to get a copy of the book yourself to see what that’s all about.

*Disclosure: I received this book for free from Blogging for Books but I would not have shared it with you today if it wasn’t a true winner. The opinions expressed are strictly my own.

 

Leave a Reply

