Inspiration: Dot & Bo

Image

Today is October 1st and I hate to be the bearer of bad news but 2015 is fast approaching. As a wife, mother and lifestyle entrepreneur I can’t help but think about things like Thanksgiving, Christmas and of course a brand new year.  Just the other day I was looking at my vision board and thinking about what on it has come to fruition, one thing was for certain home was a huge focal point and will continue to be so in 2015.

My husband and I have been in our home for nearly 8 years and we have yet to embark on our first “Reno” but the time has finally come.  There are many things I love about the house, the original hard wood floors, wood burning fireplace, spacious garage, the really big dormer window upstairs but the kitchen is a disaster. The only reason why the kitchen got a pass and we decided to buy the house despite its lackluster decor and dated appliances is because it’s located at the back of the house and we have a good-sized backyard meaning all it would take was a few knocked down walls and possible expansion to give me the proper semi-professional looking kitchen that one culinary expert deserves.  Well after over 7 years of being a “good sport” while waiting for my husband to make it happen I’ve decided to take matters into my own hands. We are not in a position to get ourselves further in debt with a major renovation so I’m happily settling for a facelift. No walls will get knocked down, the layout will remain the same but instead there will be clean modern cabinets with some open shelving, an exhaust vent that actually works, new appliances including a “dishwasher”, subway tile, a butcher block counter top and a new look for the dining area as well.

I spent some time on Pinterest putting a board together of ideas and looks that I like and of course I’m sourcing out various retail outlets to see where I can get the most for my money, which brings me to Dot & Bo, I first learned of the site through a sponsored ad on Facebook. I quickly signed up for their newsletter and have fallen totally in love with many of the home decor items that I’ve seen. This is a site that truly has something for everyone, one of a kind items that you won’t see in every home, conversation pieces with real flair and a great sense of design. If you are unsure what things will work in your home to give it that certain “look” Dot & Bo is a great place to start.

I’ll be sure to keep you guys updated on the kitchen/dining renovation once I get started and if any of you fellow DIY folks out there that have any good advice to share I’m all ears.

“Creating a space that you love and wish to share with others is just one of the ways to bring a little bit of that Sunday spirit into your every day.”

Leave a Reply

