Fall Reading

Earlier in the week, I shared with you my favorite Fall TV shows, YouTube channels and podcasts now let’s talk Fall reading. For me there are few things more enjoyable than taking the time to curl up with a good book, I know it’s a cliché but one for me that is absolutely true. If you are a fellow bibliophile than you can agree that Fall is a perfect time to sink your teeth into something new, literary speaking.

Here’s a little secret for you, my love of food only comes second to my love of reading and writing. Once upon a time I wanted to be a fiction writer, a cross between Alice Walker and Judy Blume. I’ve even written what is known in the fiction world as a “shitty first draft”. Although my career took a turn in another direction of sorts my love of reading and the written word remains strong.  In the publishing world Fall is a big time for new books in all genres. It kind of makes sense that we are urged to get back into a more literary frame around the same time that many are heading back to school. This summer I had the good fortune to finally do a little reading where food isn’t the focal point which as trivial as it sounds is a really big deal and now that I’m back at it I don’t want to stop. So listed below are a few titles on my Fall reading list.  FYI the food related reading hasn’t stopped in the least, staying “in the know” is part of my job but it certainly is nice to take a break from it every now and then.

Nigella Lawson in her library (my dream library)

Nigella Lawson in her library (my dream library)

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – I feel like I’m the last person in America to read this book, I downloaded it on the kindle in early August and I just finished it up a few days ago.  It is so good!!! I remember listening to an audio excerpt of it on NPR when it was first published and had always meant to pick up or download a copy needless to say the trailer for the upcoming movie with Ben Affleck pushed me in the appropriate direction.

This is where I leave you by Jonathan Tropper – Another book turned movie that just hit the theaters, I first read this book last year and recently decided that I wanted to give it a re-read since my mother passed away and the story centers around a group of siblings coming together at their father’s wake. Although I haven’t finished the re-read just yet, I should have it done  sometime before the DVD release. I love a story involving not so perfect families that celebrate everything we love and hate about family life.

Bread and Wine: A love letter to life around the table with recipes by Shauna Niequist – I know, I know already I’m getting back to food. I stumbled upon this while checking out the list of editors picks on Amazon. Shauna is my kind of girl, a Jesus loving wife and mom who enjoys her vino and carbs, Hers is a book that I wish I had written. A collection of stories centered around the table that also explores the subtle lessons of how God nourishes us as we nourish others and it has recipes!!!!

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt – What an absolute delight! a press release about this book that was published last year popped up in my inbox recently and I immediately added it to my Amazon shopping cart, this is a book that I don’t even want to share with my kids (bad mommy). A funny story about the crayons in the box who are feeling a tad left out in the coloring game, black is tired of being used for just outlining, blue is tired of being used to color bodies of water and pink insists that she’s not just for girls.  More chaos will ensue I’m sure before they all agree to get along again and get back to the business of coloring, I can’t wait until the UPS man delivers this one.

The Look of Love (Book 1 in the Sullivan Series) by Bella Andre – Please do not judge, I repeat please do not judge. Yes I love Chaucer, Tolstoy, Austen and can quote Thoreau’s Walden until I”m blue in the face but I can also appreciate a good bodice ripper. I was introduced to Bella Andre way back in 2007 when she published her food themed erotica book “Tempt Me, Taste Me, Touch Me” (Go ahead and laugh you know you want to). She’s managed to ink a 7 figure book deal with good ole Harlequin books for her contemporary romance series centered around a family called “The Sullivans”. The fact that she landed 7 figures is reason enough for me to check this out and possibly rethink my prior career aspirations in fiction writing. Not to mention the books take place in two of my favorite cities, San Francisco and Seattle.

The Nesting Place: It doesn’t have to be perfect to be Beautiful by Myquillyn Smith –  The title alone is very telling, many of us struggle with the idea of not having perfect homes including myself. I’m finally at the point where I want to share my humble abode with others regardless of its current condition. Although I do have a few DIY projects planned for the coming year. This book will explore the idea of letting go of perfection and find ways to enjoy what you have.

Rainey Royal by Dylan Landis – Least you think I have no depth, here is something for all of you true literary fiction fans. A coming of age story that takes place in my favorite hometown (New York City) centered around the daughter of a Jazz musician who learns to navigate life on her own terms in 1970’s New York.

And finally I’ll spare you my detailed analysis of these upcoming cookbook titles and just leave you with the list of ones that I can’t wait to get my hands on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

