Podcasts, YouTube and Fall TV

black-woman-watching-television

I have a confession to make, I am a real Fall TV junkie. It’s true, I love the boob tube. I went years without watching much television but in the last 4 years or so I find that the programming has been some of the best I’ve ever seen and I’m now so committed to various shows that you would think someone was paying me to watch them.  This week marks the beginning of Fall TV and below is my personal line-up of much watch shows. I’m not sure exactly where in the Sunday lifestyle does watching all of this television fall into but I’m gonna throw it into the category of doing the little things that bring you pleasure (work with me here).

~

When I’m not watching television, basically in the late Spring and Summer or while doing housework I find myself listening to podcasts. Even though I’m clearly devoted to my television viewing I’m very old school in that I love radio, particularly talk radio. That’s right I’m a card-carrying NPR supporter but one doesn’t always have time to listen to live talk radio so that’s where a good podcast comes in handy. I subscribe to several through iTunes and discovering the app Sticher really changed the game for me. Here a few of my personal faves.

 ~

Finally let’s talk a little bit about YouTube, clearly it has more going on than those cheesy 80’s music videos I post from time to time. I used to scoff at the idea that there would be ever be anything useful to watch on YouTube other than the occasional music video but over the years I’ve been proved wrong on that account as well. As I’ve gotten increasingly disenchanted with Food TV over the years I like checking out some of the cooking shows/videos on YouTube. Many are by food bloggers, chefs or cookbook authors who I admire but others are by folks whose main platform is through YouTube. These are the ones who mainstream television apparently isn’t ready to take a risk on…oh well their loss.

I know what you must be thinking, How in the world do you have time to keep up with all of this? Well, food, media, communication as a whole is something I’m very passionate about and its like anything else, you find a way to make time for things that you enjoy. I’m not glued to the computer screen every minute of the day but when I’m ready to dig a little deep and take some time out to hear, see, or listen to a different perspective on food or anything else for that matter. These are just a handful of the places that I turn to.

One thought on “Podcasts, YouTube and Fall TV

  1. Pingback: Media Malfunction… | The Art of Sunday Dinner

Leave a Reply

