Inside the Recipe Tester’s Kitchen: Planning a Harvest dinner party

I’m still holding on to Summer as much as I can. There are a handful of local peaches stashed in the crisper just waiting to be turned into refrigerator jam, I’m sporting a fresh pedicure in a color that’s beachy and bold but everyone and everything around me is hell-bent on thrusting me towards Fall including work.

For one of my regular freelance gigs I development recipes for a team of local health and fitness experts to use with their private clients and in various workshops, I develop the initial recipes on my own and then I join them in the kitchen where we test the recipes together so they have a firm understanding of the preparation, flavor profile, cooking techniques, etc. Right now I’m working on a multi-course menu for their Harvest/Holiday themed promotional dinner in November. So far everything has turned out spot on during development and testing, for someone who still doesn’t quite feel like their cooking mojo is working at 100% I’ve been doing good work.

Processed with VSCOcam with t2 presetSadly I can’t share all of the recipes with you but I can disclose one, the Apple-Potato Bisque. You’ll find a few similar versions of this recipe out there on the web, but I can’t guarantee that the flavor and ease of preparation will be as good as mine…just saying.

Apple-Potato Bisque

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 medium apples, peeled and chopped ( I used gala apples)
  • 1 ½ cups diced and peeled Yukon gold potato
  • ½ cup chopped onion
  • ¼ cup thinly sliced celery
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher or sea salt
  • ½ teaspoon dried sage
  • pinch of smoked paprika
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 3 ½ cups vegetable stock
  • ¼ cup greek yogurt

Instructions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add apple, potato, onion and celery; cook, stirring until the onion is translucent, about five minutes. Stir in salt, sage, paprika and pepper.
  2. Pour in the vegetable stock and bring to a simmer, reduce heat, cover and gently simmer until the potato is tender about ten to fifteen minutes.
  3. Transfer soup to a large blender or food processor, add greek yogurt and puree until velvety smooth. Garnish with celery leaves (optional)

*In the photo above, homemade seeded crackers, apple-potato bisque, halloumi with greens , brown sugar and pear glazed roast pork with a raw winter slaw. Photo editing courtesy of the VSCO cam app.

 

One thought on “Inside the Recipe Tester’s Kitchen: Planning a Harvest dinner party

  1. Pingback: Good Dinner Party Recipes | I Make Good Food

Leave a Reply

