Catching up and Father’s Day

Well last week came and went in a big ole blur, I’ve been trying my best to ease into this Summer truly living the Sunday lifestyle and not just talking about it taking time to do the things that bring me joy. I’ve been cooking delicious foods, listening to great music, nesting and spending quality time with loved ones but then there are those other moments where chaos ensues. Particularly in the form a four legged young lady named “BB” (short for Bailey’s Baby). I know it sort of sounds like the name of a race horse. BB is an an American Pit Bull Terrier or American Staffordshire Terrier depending on who you ask. Not the sort of family dog I envisioned having since they have such a bad reputation mainly because they are a breed of dog that the occasional imbecile will use for dog fighting. BB is sweet, energetic and my daughters simply adore her.  However her house training has been causing the kind of sleep deprivation and brain fog that I haven’t experienced since my girls were infants, BB is up every morning at around 5 am (a good 90 minutes before I normally start my day) oh and I thought potty training my girls was difficult, well they’ve got nothing on BB.  Isn’t she the cutest!!!

bb

 

A little while back my posting schedule got shifted a bit due to a pottery class that I starting taking. I thought it was time to share some of my work. Even though I’m someone who admittedly has a good eye for fashion, art and design I’m not a visual artist by any stretch of the imagination. Some would say that cooking is a visual art and yes it can be if you are a talented food stylist.  I surprised myself at how easily I was able to grasp the skill and how wonderfully therapeutic it is working with clay. I’ve got one week left in the class but I hope to sign up for a second session in July.

My first finished piece, a tea mug of course.  Because I need another mug like I need a hole in the head. This was done by hand.

My first finished piece, a tea mug of course. Because I need another mug like I need a hole in the head.                             This was done by hand.

 

Two bowls fresh off the potters wheel.

Two bowls fresh off the potters wheel.

These pieces are glazed and are now in the kiln, I'll post a photo of their finished look next week.

These pieces are glazed and are now in the kiln, I’ll post a photo of their finished look next week.

I also realized that I owe you guys a garden update. How does my garden grow you wonder? It’s coming along, I had a bit of a meltdown the other day when I was weeding because at that moment it still wasn’t looking like much of anything to me, and I was wishing my mother was there with me telling me what to do. And just when I was ready to say screw it and give up I went around to the side of my house where my wildflower garden is and I saw this…

photo-44

 

Finally let’s talk about Father’s Day, this holiday like Mother’s Day and Memorial Day seems to have snuck up on me and needless to say I’m ill prepared. My dad and husband are both pretty easy to buy for or should I say my husband is easy to buy for. My Dad is a guy who doesn’t deprive himself of much and has a very expensive hobby  restoring classic cars so at times I find myself stumped for gift ideas. And sadly my budget can not accommodate vintage car parts right now. This year especially my Dad deserves something really special, the way he has taken care of my mom during this past year is unlike anything that I’ve ever seen. He is a man who truly adores his wife and his family as a whole. He has taken his wedding vows to heart, for better or for worse, in sickness and in health. I am fortunate however that he also loves my cooking so the least I can do is prepare a Sunday Dinner fit for a king.  As for the husband, well it was either a store bought fire pit or a new wallet. I went for the wallet since he is insists that he will make the time to build the fire pit himself this summer. I’m giving him until the end of the month to get it built and then I’m buying one…the s’mores are calling me.

My husband and two daughters at the beach in Cape May Point, NJ

My husband and two daughters at the beach in Cape May Point, NJ

Whew! Now we are officially caught up and I’m already feeling a little less crazed and more like my mellow self. I wish you all a wonderful Father’s Day. I’ll be back next week or possibly sooner and remember incorporate a little bit of “Sunday” into your every day.

2 thoughts on “Catching up and Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

