Mum’s The Word…Happy Mother’s Day!

Not sure why I decided to stay with this post title, it was one that was reserved for a book review/recipe posting. The book was written by a fellow food professional friend and the recipe was something that would be perfect for a mother’s day brunch, something that I’ve always wanted to host but never got around to do doing. It’s Saturday night, mothers day is tomorrow…I started my pottery class this past Monday and I warned you guys that my posting schedule might change because of it. I had hoped to post something on Tuesday or Wednesday but those days became filled with errand running and a house in dire need of cleaning. So why no book review or brunch recipe today, well you see my heart is a little heavy, and I feel like the wind has been knocked out of me a bit. My own beautiful mother is battling end stage cancer, she has battled cancer off and on for the past eight years with the strength and courage of a prize-fighter but for the past six months, my father, sister and I along with many others have watched her whither away. For someone who declares their self to be a writer I can’t begin to find the words to express how I feel. She wouldn’t want us wallowing, I know she’s angry even though at this moment she doesn’t have the physical strength or ability to say so. But I also know she’s tired and doesn’t want to continue to let the disease destroy her body further.  I have a husband and two children of my own, so I’m trying to carry on like normal, my sister has a fun-filled California vacation planned, and my dad will have to eventually return to work (he’s been on leave for the past six months caring for mom).   But right now the pain that we feel is completely overwhelming. In some ways I feel as if I’ve been grieving her for months already, back during Christmastime when her health first took a serious nose dive and I just knew…

Perhaps this is all too personal for a blog that’s supposed to be a feel good place but I wanted to create a space where I could write about anything and though I do have a specific goal and theme for this blog, it’s also about life, my life. I’m going to do my best to continue blogging over the next several weeks even though I know it may be difficult and some of you would probably say why bother but you see my Mom wouldn’t want us to put our lives on hold she would want us to forge ahead and do the things that bring us joy. She would want us to learn something from what she’s been going through these past several years. Like something I already learned a long time ago, life is short…but it is also a gift, we should cherish every moment and have no regrets. To my mother, my BFF, I honor you today, yesterday and forever.

To all of the mothers out there I wish you a wonderful day and if you are fortunate to still have your mother around make sure she knows how much she means to you not just on mother’s day but every day.

My Mom - Senior Picture Class of 1973

My Mom – Senior Picture Class of 1973

Leave a Reply

