Springing back into the Kitchen

Roasted veg

For a blog that is supposed to be pretty food-centric I realize there is a serious lack of recipes and cooking posts going on, so we’re going to remedy that today. Despite the arrival of Spring complete with a few 70 + degree days of clear skies and sunshine. I’m having a hard time getting my mojo back in the kitchen. I’m determined to rid myself of this post winter funk so I’m giving my dutch oven a much-needed break (see ya later chili, pot roast and chicken curry) and breaking out some of my other favorite kitchen equipment for a little fast cooking with some of the “We’re finally here” fresh Spring produce that I now have at my disposal. However there is still a part of me that’s hanging on to some of the veg that caressed and sustained me through the “winter that wouldn’t let go”. I still long for my carrots, turnips, and beets while now simultaneously whispering sweet nothings to my bunches of asparagus and ramps.

I know, I know…yes I’m using words like caress and talking about whispering to my produce, doesn’t everyone do that…lol

Before I share with you a couple of my favorite go to spring recipes an attempt to get the mojo going let’s revisit the mission here at TAOSD. My goal is help you bring some of the pleasure of a leisurely Sunday to the every day. Every recipe whether it takes 2 minutes or 2 hours to prepare is meant to evoke the feeling of a Sunday. And the same goes for whatever other person, place or thing I choose to share. Let’s get beyond the busyness of life and relish in the every day.

messogreens

3 Herb White Bean Dip

This dip is a perfect way to showcase your favorite fresh herbs which are usually the first to make an appearance in my garden or at the local farm stands.  Every time I make this dip I use a different mixture of herbs, for this version I used rosemary, chives and sage. 

Makes 2 1/2 cups

  •  1 15 ounce can white beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped chives
  • 3 fresh sage leaves, chopped
  • 1 small sprig fresh rosemary
  • large pinch of kosher salt
  • black pepper
  • juice of 1 lemon

In the bowl of a food processor, add in the beans, garlic, olive oil, and fresh herbs. Process until smooth and creamy, season with salt, pepper and lemon juice, pulse the mixture to combine and taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.

Serve with your favorite raw veggies and crackers.

 

A Mess of Greens

I think I was visiting some friends down south the first time I heard the phrase ” A Mess of Greens” and since then I’ve adopted the term and make myself a batch quite regularly. Like the white bean dip above there is a lot of flexibility to this dish. Use whatever dark, leafy greens that you have on hand,  and serve them with just about anything from scrambled eggs to your favorite roast chicken. These are great tossed with your favorite whole grain du jour as well. 

Serves 4

  • 4 cups dark leafy greens (chard, kale, collards, etc), washed, stems removed and chopped into bite size pieces.
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 small red onion, thinly sliced
  • kosher salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder or 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon tamari

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over med-high heat, add in the onion with a healthy pinch of salt and pepper and saute until they begin to soften about 5-10 minutes.

Add in the garlic (powder or fresh), red pepper flakes and tamari. Continue cooking for an additional 2 minutes. Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary and serve right away.

*The feature photo in this post is of the one dish that I can always fall back on when all else fails…roasted vegetables. I am not above turning on my oven even on the hottest August day.  Carrots, asparagus, red bell peppers, baby turnips tossed with olive oil, salt, pepper and roasted in a 400 degree oven for about 20-30 minutes. Serve them alone, alongside your “Mess of Greens”, tossed in a vinegary dressing or just eaten straight off the pan like I tend to do.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

